Funding Opportunities

Theodore Guerin Travel Grant Flyer 05

The Cushwa Center has launched the Mother Theodore Guerin Research Travel Grant Program. This program memorializes the historic connection between Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College and the University of Notre Dame by supporting researchers whose projects seek to feature Catholic women more prominently in stories of the past. (Read our recent news release on the inspiration for the program here.)

Grants of up to $1,500 will be made to scholars seeking to visit any repository in or outside the United States, or traveling to conduct oral interviews, especially of women religious.

An inaugural round of grants will be awarded in late spring 2018 (application deadline: May 1, 2018). Thereafter, applications will be due December 31 each year for research in the subsequent calendar year.

The next application deadline for each of the following funding programs is December 31, 2018:

Research Travel Grants assists scholars who wish to visit the University Archives or other collections at the Hesburgh Libraries at Notre Dame for research relating to the study of Catholics in America.

The Cushwa Center established the Theodore M. Hesburgh Research Travel Grant Program to support research projects in any academic discipline that consider and incorporate the work of Rev. Theodore Hesburgh, C.S.C., former president of the University of Notre Dame.

The Peter R. D’Agostino Research Travel Grant is offered in conjunction with Italian Studies at Notre Dame. Designed to facilitate the study of the American past from an international perspective, this competitive, annual award supports research in Roman archives for a significant publication project on U.S. Catholic history.

The Center also administers a Hibernian Research Award funded by an endowment from the Ancient Order of Hibernians. This annual award provides travel funds to support the scholarly study of the Irish experience in Ireland and America.



Kathleen S. Cummings, Timothy Matovina, Massimo Faggioli (2012 Peter R. D’Agostino Research Travel Grant recipient), and Joseph Buttigieg