Group photo of the participants at CHWR 2019
Participants at CHWR 2019

Since 1989, triennial conferences have sought to enhance networking while recognizing outstanding research in the field. For over three decades, scholars have gathered every three years to share their research on vowed women—nuns and sisters—drawn from several religious traditions.

The Conference on the History of Women Religious has been convened at the College of St. Catherine (1989); Marymount College in Tarrytown, New York (1992); Cardinal Stritch University (1995); Loyola University Chicago (1998); Marquette University (2001); the Atchison Heritage Conference Center in Atchison, Kansas (2004); the University of Notre Dame (2007); the University of Scranton (2010); (2013); Santa Clara University (2016); and Saint Mary's College in Notre Dame, Indiana (2019). 

In addition to plenary and concurrent sessions, conferences have featured magnet groups, forums, round tables and film, dramatic performances, art exhibits, book displays, and archival tours. Major speakers have included Barbara Welter, Patricia Byrne, C.S.J., Mary Ewens, O.P., Margaret Susan Thompson, Jo Ann McNamara, Gerda Lerner, Patricia Wittberg, S.C., Paula Kane, Elizabeth Rapley, Anne Butler, Angelyn Dries, O.S.F., Margaret Eletta Guider, O.S.F., Debra Campbell, Deirdre Raftery, and Ann M. Little. 

Read more about past conferences:

Twelfth Triennial Conference (2022) | Eleventh Triennial Conference (2019)  |  Tenth Triennial Conference (2016)  |  Ninth Triennial Conference (2013)  |  Eighth Triennial Conference (2010)  |  Seventh Triennial Conference (2007)  |  Sixth Triennial Conference (2004)  |  Fifth Triennial Conference (2001)  |  Fourth Triennial Conference (1998)  |  Third Triennial Conference (1995)  |  Second Triennial Conference (1992)  |  First Triennial Conference (1989)  |  1987 Colloquium

Stay informed about future events by subscribing to the Cushwa Center's mailing lists.